Gluten-free Heroes Part 3: The Bell and Jorrocks, Frittenden

It probably won’t surprise anyone who knows me that I’ve included a pub among my gluten-free heroes.  I think this is called getting your retaliation in first 😉

The Bell and Jorrocks is not just any pub, however, but a place dear to my heart that I enjoy visiting when I’m with my family in Kent.  I’ve probably been going there on and off since I was about 15, even working behind the bar once upon a time, and it’s one of two focal points in the village community, the other being the church.

Over and above all the many other good reasons I might have had for going there – good beer (when I was still drinking it), delicious cider (now I’m off the beer), great company, friendly welcome, etc – there is now another one to add to the list, in the form of the pub’s chef, Steve, who is a fellow coeliac and therefore understands completely what I can and can’t eat, and delivers something safe and extremely tasty every time.  And, what’s more, he can offer a choice of dishes, not just the one token jacket spud and cheese like some places I could mention.

The Bell and Jorrocks is proof that you can offer good, coeliac-friendly food at a sensible price, on a regular basis, without the backing of a chain like Wetherspoons.  Thanks, Sean and Rosie, landlords extraordinaires, and thanks Steve 🙂

Leave a Reply

